Support House Bill 970 for tax credits for the
rehabilitation of historic structures.

Gentlemen,
There is a good Bill that has been submitted, House Bill 970 that provides tax credits for the rehabilitation of historic structures. The Sons of Confederate Veterans has always been on the forefront protecting and preserving our History and Heritage. This Bill gives good tax incentives to promote the preservation of Georgia’s History. House Bill 970 is currently in the House’s Ways & Means Committee and needs our help promoting its passage to the House Floor.

Below is a summary of the Bill, sample letter and the contact information to all the House’s Ways & Means Committee members. Please write a letter to the Members and to your Local Representative asking for their support of this good legislation. If you can’t send a letter please call and e-mail.

Thank you, Tim Pilgrim, Division Commander

House Bill 970
By: Representatives Smith of the 133rd, Smyre of the 135th, Rich of the 97th, Hatchett of the 150th, Buckner of the 137th, and others

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT

To amend Article 2 of Chapter 7 of Title 48 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to the imposition, rate, computation, and exemptions from state income taxes, so as to revise procedures, conditions, and limitations relating to tax credits for the rehabilitation of historic structures; to authorize promulgation of regulations; to provide for preapproval of additional tax credits for current recipients of tax credits; to provide for related matters; to provide for effective dates; to provide for applicability; to provide for an automatic repeal and for reenactment of prior provisions; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

Below is a sample letter / e-mail:

Dear Representative __________:

As a constituent, I respectfully request you to support House Bill 970 that provide tax credits for the rehabilitation of Georgia’s Historic Structures.

This Bill will help preserve Georgia’s rich history and architecture, along with revitalizing areas of neglect. These historical structures define our State and also provides tourist designations and revenue.

My family feels, it is our duty to preserve America’s and Georgia’s history by offering these common sense incentives.

We appreciate your service and consideration..

Sincerely,
(Signed by you and other family members)

Click Here: Word Copy of the Sample Letter

Chick Here: Full PDF Copy of House Bill 970

Chick Here: for the Word Copy if Ways & Means Committee Members

Ways & Means Committee
Committee Members
Harrell, Brett, Chairman
404.966.5804 – Office
brett.harrell@house.ga.gov
District Address
PO Box 1135
Snellville, GA 30078

Carson, John, Vice Chairman
404.520.8826 – Office
john.carson@house.ga.gov
District Address
3605 Sandy Plains Road, Suite 240-123
Marietta, GA 30066

Rutledge, Dale, Secretary
404.656.0254 – Office
dale.rutledge@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 1162
McDonough, GA 30253

Beasley-Teague, Sharon
404.656.0220 – Office
sharon.beasley-teague@house.ga.gov
District Address
PO Box 488
Red Oak, GA 30272

Bentley, Patty
404.656.0287 – Office
patty.bentley@house.ga.gov
District Address
133 Railroad Street
Butler, GA 31006

Blackmon, Shaw
404.463.7853 – Office
shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov
District Address
P. O. Box 729
Bonaire, GA 31005

Buckner, Debbie
404.656.0116 – Office
debbie.buckner@house.ga.gov
District Address
780 Fielders Mill Road
Junction City, GA 31812
706.269.3630 – Office

Carpenter, Kasey
404.657.1803 – Office
kasey.carpenter@house.ga.gov
District Address
1301 W. Morton Drive
Dalton, GA 30720

Corbett, John
404.656.0213 – Office
john.corbett@house.ga.gov
District Address:
1484 Ga. Hwy. 135 S.
Lake Park, GA 31636

Dickey, Robert
404.463.2246 – Office
robert.dickey@house.ga.gov
District Address
PO Box 103
Musella, GA 31066
478.836.4362 – Office

Frye, Spencer
404.656.0265 – Office
spencer.frye@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 8101
Athens, GA 30603

Holcomb, Scott
404.656.6372 – Office
scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov
District Address
2306 Briarcliff Commons
Atlanta, GA 30345

Houston, Penny
404.463.2248 – Office
penny.houston@house.ga.gov
District Address
8395 Highway 129
Nashville, GA 31639

Kelley, Trey
404.656.5024 – Office
trey.kelley@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 206
Cedartown, GA 30125

Knight, David
404.463.2248 – Office
david.knight@house.ga.gov
District Address
1003 East College Street
Griffin, GA 30224

Martin, Chuck
404.656.5064 – Office
chuck.martin@house.ga.gov
District Address
11770 Haynes Bridge Road
Suite 205-544
Alpharetta, GA 30004

Newton, Mark
404.656.0254 – Office
mark.newton@house.ga.gov
Capitol Address
601-H Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30334

Parsons, Don
404.463.7853 – Office
don.parsons@house.ga.gov
District Address
3167 Sycamore Lane
Marietta, GA 30066
770.977.4426 – Office

Reeves, Bert
404.651.7737 – Office
bert.reeves@house.ga.gov
District Address
890 Crossfire Ridge
Marietta, GA 30064
770.427.1605 – Office

Rhodes, Trey
404.656.5099 – Office
trey.rhodes@house.ga.gov
District Address
1051 Ben Hammond Drive
Greensboro, GA 30642

Rich, Bonnie
404.656.5087 – Office
bonnie.rich@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 663
Suwanee, GA 30024

Smith, Vance
404.656.0254 – Office
vance.smith@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 171
Pine Mountain, GA 31822

Stephens, Mickey
404.656.0265 – Office
mickey.stephens@gmail.com
District Address
PO Box 5485
Savannah, Ga 31414
912.661.1733 – Office

Stephens, Ron
404.656.5115 – Office
ron.stephens@house.ga.gov
District Address
45 Cove Drive
Savannah, GA 31419
912.596.1998 – Office

Trammell, Robert
404.656.5058 – Office
robert.trammell@house.ga.gov
District Address
128 North Main Street
Luthersville, GA 30251

Watson, Sam
404.463.2246 – Office
sam.watson@house.ga.gov
District Address
P.O. Box 3914
Moultrie, GA 31776

Williamson, Bruce
404.656.5024 – Office
bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov
District Address
PO Box 430
Monroe, GA 30655
770.267.2566 – Office

Dubnik, Matt
404.656.0213 – Office
matt.dubnik@house.ga.gov
Capitol Address
508-C Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30334

England, Terry
404.463.2247 – Office
terry.england@house.ga.gov
Capitol Address
245 State Capitol
Atlanta, GA 30334