February 4, 2021

Call to Action
Support for House Bill 220
Defeat House Bills 237 & 238

Friends,

As expected we had (3) three House Bills filed this week.

One good one:

House Bill 220, makes (2) Sons of Confederate Veterans Members and (2) Civil War Commission Members mandatory Board Members of the Stone Mountain Memorial Association.

The justification of SCV members being Board members is members of the SCV and the UCV and UDC were the original founders of the Stone Mountain Memorial Association. Also, the Sons of Confederate Veterans are the guardians of Confederate Monuments and need to be on the Board.

Two BAD ones:

House Bill 237, which removes all law protections for Confederate monuments and monuments of individuals that had owned slaves.
Removes the designation of Stone Mountain Memorial Park as a memorial to the Confederacy.

House Bill 238, makes it legal for cities and counties to remove Confederate monuments with no penalties or ramifications what so ever. Nor does the monument have to be placed in a location of similar prominence if moved.

ALL THREE HOUSE BILLS ARE CURRENTLY IN THE HOUSE RULES COMMITTEE.

Below is the contact information of all the Republican House Rules Committee members who hold the majority in the Rules committee.

WHAT TO DO:

• Send a handwritten letter to these Rules Committee members asking them to Support House Bill 220 and to Vote Against House Bills 237 & 238.
• Send them an email and call their office asking them to Support House Bill 220 and to Vote Against House Bills 237 & 238.
• Contact your local Representative and ask them to speak to members of the Rules committee.

Below is a sample letter / e-mail:

Dear Representative __________:

I respectfully request you to support House Bill 220 that makes SCV members ex officio members of the Stone Mountain Memorial Association. The SCV was the original founders of the Association and are the guardians needed to protect Stone Mountain’s purpose as a memorial to the Confederacy.

I respectfully request you to VOTE AGAINST House Bills 237 & 238 that call for the removal of all Confederate monuments and “slave owners” monuments. It also removes the designation of Stone Mountain as a memorial to the Confederacy.

My family feels, it is our duty to preserve America’s and Georgia’s history and the memorials that honor Georgia’s Veterans.

We appreciate your service and consideration.

Sincerely,
(Signed by you and other family members)

 

House Rules Committee -2021

Richard H. Smith, Chairman,R – Columbus, District 134
richard.smith@house.ga.gov
mailto:pamela.lewis@house.ga.gov
220-A State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.6831
District Address:
PO Box 2122, Columbus, GA 31902-2122

Matt Hatchett, VChair R– Dublin, District 150
matt.hatchett@house.ga.gov
mailto:debra.stokes@house.ga.gov
415 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5025
District Address:
100 Canterbury Road, Dublin, GA 31021

Rick Jasperse, R. – Jasper, District 11th
rick.jasperse@house.ga.gov
218-C State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
Office: (404) 656-7153
District Address
89 Apple Valley Farm Lane
Jasper, GA 30143

Mandi L. Ballinger, R Canton, District 23
mandi.ballinger@house.ga.gov
emily.engel@house.ga.gov
218-B State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7153
District Address:
P.O. Box 5123, Canton, GA 30114

Tommy Benton, R – Jefferson, District 31
mailto:tommy.benton@house.ga.gov
macie.rush@house.ga.gov
217 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5126
District Address:
177 Martin Street, Jefferson, GA 30549

Shaw Blackmon, R – Bonaire, District 146
shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov
alicia.bohannon@house.ga.gov
401-K State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.463.7853 – Office
District Address:
P. O. Box 729, Bonaire, GA 31005

Jon G. Burns, R – Newington, District 159
jon.burns@house.ga.gov
kailyn.mikulsky@house.ga.gov
338 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5052
District Address:
5829 Clyo-Kildare Road, Newington, GA 30446

John Carson, R – Marietta, District 46
john.carson@house.ga.gov
mailto:brandy.blige@house.ga.gov
401-E State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7855
District Address:
3605 Sandy Plains Road, Suite 240-123
Marietta, GA 30066
404.520.8826

Sharon Cooper, R – Marietta, District 43
sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov
lynn.mckenzie@house.ga.gov
436 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5069
District Address:
1234 Powers Ferry Rd., Suite 104
Marietta, GA 30067
770.956.8357

Katie M. Dempsey, R – Rome, District 13
katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov
kirby.dzurny@house.ga.gov
245 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.463.2248
District Address:
3 Central Plaza, #360, Rome, GA 30161

Chuck Efstration, R – Dacula, District 104
chuck.efstration@house.ga.gov
haneefah.saleem@house.ga.gov
131 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.510
District Address:
P.O. Box 1656, Dacula, GA 30019

Barry Fleming, R – Harlem, District 121
barry.fleming@house.ga.gov
jerrie.baughman@house.ga.gov
Capitol Address:
132 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5125 – Office

Gerald E Greene, R – Cuthbert. District 151
gerald.greene@house.ga.gov
haneefah.saleem@house.ga.gov
131-A State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5105
District Address:
5805 US. Highway 82 W.,Cuthbert, GA 39840
229.732.2750

Lee Hawkins, R – Gainesville, District 27
lee.hawkins@house.ga.gov
brandy.blige@house.ga.gov
401-B State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7855
District Address:
4317 Tall Hickory Trl, Gainesville, GA 30506

Bill Hitchens, R – Rincon, District 161st
bill.hitchens@house.ga.gov
courtney.strain@house.ga.gov
401-D State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
Office: (404) 656-7855
District Address
2440 Rincon-Stillwell Rd.
Rincon, GA 31326

Jan Jones, R – Milton, District 47
jan.jones@house.ga.gov
sheena.wright@house.ga.gov
340 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5072
District Address:
12850 Highway 9Suite 600-356
Milton, GA 30004

Trey Kelley, R – Cedartown, District 16th
trey.kelley@house.ga.gov
wanda.scull@house.ga.gov
415 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
Office: (404) 656-5024
District Address
P.O. Box 206, Cedartown, GA 30125

David Knight, R – Griffin, District 130
david.knight@house.ga.gov
kirby.dzurny@house.ga.gov
245 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.463.2248
District Address:
1003 East College Street, Griffin, GA 30224

Eddie Lumsden, R – Armuchee, District 12
eddie.lumsden@house.ga.gov
shirley.spencer@house.ga.gov
402 Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg.
18 Capitol Square SW, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5087 – Office
District Address:
PO Box 122, Armuchee, GA 30105

Chuck Martin, R – Alpharetta, District 49
chuck@martinforgeorgia.com
darcy.callaway@house.ga.gov
417-A State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5064
District Address:
11770 Haynes Bridge Rd Suite 205-544
Alpharetta, GA 30004

Greg Morris, R – Vidalia, District 156
greg.morris@house.ga.gov
donna.harley@house.ga.gov
226-B State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5115
District Address:
1021 JR. Rollins Road, Vidalia, GA 30474
912.293.0725

Mark Newton, R – Augusta, District 123rd
mark.newton@house.ga.gov
kathy.hutcherson@house.ga.gov
601-H Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30334
Office: (404) 656-0254

Butch Parrish, R – Swainsboro, Dist 158
butch.parrish@house.ga.gov
sheila.raney@house.ga.gov
245 State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.463.2246
District Address:
132 Victory Drive, Swainsboro, GA 30401
478.237.3838

Alan Powell, R – Hartwell, District 32
alanpowell23@hotmail.com
jan.brown@house.ga.gov
613-B Coverdell Legislative Office Building
18 Capitol Square SW, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.463.3793 – Office
District Address:
3059 Ridge Road, Hartwell, GA 30643
706.206.6500 – Office

Ed Setzler, R – Acworth, District 35
ed.setzler@house.ga.gov
dianna.brooks@house.ga.gov
401-I State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7857
District Address:
1555 Boxwood Trace, Acworth, GA 30102

Lynn Smith, R – Newnan, District 70
lynn.smith@house.ga.gov
nicole.chappelle@house.ga.gov
228-C State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7149
District Address:
Eight Evergreen Drive, Newnan, GA 30263

Ron Stephens, R – Savannah, District 164
ron.stephens@house.ga.gov
donna.harley@house.ga.gov
226-A State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5115
District Address:
45 Cove Drive, Savannah, GA 31419
912.596.1998

Jan Tankersley, R – Brooklet, District 160
jan.tankersley@house.ga.gov
brandy.blige@house.ga.gov
401-C State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7855
District Address:
PO Box 187, Brooklet, GA 30415

Darlene K. Taylor, R – Thomasville, 173
darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov
dianna.brooks@house.ga.gov
401-H State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.7857 – Office
District Address:
PO Box 65803, Thomasville, GA 31758
229.225.9943 – Office

Bruce Williamson, R – Monroe, Dist 115
bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov
wanda.scull@house.ga.gov
415-B State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
404.656.5024 – Office
District Address:
PO Box 430, Monroe, GA 30655
770.267.2566 – Office